The biggest and the most awaited cricket festival, ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, is almost here after a long wait of 4 years and we definitely can’t keep calm. It is the international championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket organized every four years by the governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC). It will start from the 30th May and go on till 14th July 2019 while the warm-up matches are already going on in full swing.

The 12th edition of the championship is being organized again by the 1975 debut season hosts, England, the only country which could put up the resources required to host the grand event at that time. This is the fifth time that the Cricket World Cup will be held in England and Wales, following the 1975,1979,1983 and 1999 World Cups. The first match will be played at the Oval while the final match will be played at the Mecca of Cricket, Lords (Lords will also be hosting the finals for the record fifth time).

Do you know the ‘1975-1983’ World Cups were called the Prudential Cup? The tournament was named after the sponsor Prudential plc.

Every season has seen many changes like the number of overs, the format of the game, the records. This time it will be even more interesting and fun to watch the grandeur of the game.

Let’s look at the 10 most interesting facts of the Cricket World Cup,2019 :

1.  Ten Teams :

Photo Source : ICC Cricket World Cup

Unlike the 2015 World Cup when there were 14 participating teams, this year only 10 teams are playing. This is the smallest coterie of teams in the last 27 years and all this has gained criticism for not including associate teams. The top 10 participating teams are – India, England, Bangladesh, Australia, Afghanistan, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Indies.

2.Round Robin and No Quarterfinals :

This time it will be a single group Round Robin format used for the tournament. It is a similar style played in the IPL and was also used in the 1992 World Cup. It is followed for consistency of the teams throughout the game as each team is scheduled to face every other team. The teams will have league matches and the top 4 will qualify for the semi-finals directly. This year there is no quarterfinal and no Group A & B kind of grouping.

3.Home and Away Jersey:

Photo Source : Getty Images

According to the ICC rulebook: ‘For televised ICC events all participating teams will be required to provide for two different coloured kits, except for the host country who has preference in the choice of colour and may, if it chooses to do so, provide only one coloured kit to be worn in all matches throughout the event. In advance of the event, the teams will be notified which coloured kit will be worn in each match.”

Photo Source : Getty Images

With this new ICC mandate, we can expect some more splashes of different colours in the jersey for ‘home’ and ‘away’ matches. England, India, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan have blue as their jersey but with this new rule, it is expected that India will have most probably orange as their jersey for the matches against England and Afghanistan. India has been named home side against Sri Lanka, so it is likely to get the choice of the traditional blue jersey. So, this season ‘Orange’ might be the new ‘Blue’ for India.

4. England’s Throwback Jersey:

Photo Source : Getty Images

England being the host nation have the choice in the colour of jersey which they will wear in all the matches of the season. The hosts have revealed light blue as their colour of jersey as a throwback to England’s jersey of the 1992 World Cup when they made it to the final and lost to Pakistan by 22 runs. This time they look prepared to end the country’s long wait for the coveted trophy and the symbolism in jersey is a hope for the country that the new key proves lucky for them as they start the tournament as one of the favourites.

5. West Indies Crossed Qualifiers :

Photo: PTI

The World Cup tournament hosts England and World’s top seven other cricket teams automatically qualified for the World Cup but rest of the teams had to cross qualifiers. West Indies, has always been one of the top teams in the world of cricket. This time however they were not in the Top 7 nations as per ICC rankings and it was the first time when West Indies didn’t directly qualify and had to cross qualifiers alongside Afghanistan to get their ticket to World Cup.

6. No Zimbabwe and Associate Teams :


After 36 years Zimbabwe will miss the tournament and we are going to miss them too. After 1983, it will be the first time that Zimbabwe will not participate in a World Cup tournament. It has never been a winner but it has always been a great team especially back in the old days. This is also the first World Cup where all Test playing nations like Ireland and Zimbabwe are not playing and there will be no associate teams.

7. Legends one Last Time :

World Cup 2019, is a celebration in a lot of ways as this year we will witness many legendary players like MS Dhoni, Malinga, Gayle, Shoaib Malik, Amla, Steyn, Ross Taylor playing their last ODI World Cup. This year shall be the last tournament to be observed by Ian Gould as an umpire in his career as he would retire after this tournament. Ian Gould is one of the 22 official taking parts in this event in which there are 16 umpires and 6 referees. He has till now umpired for around 74 test, 135 one days and 37 T-20’s overall in his International matches Umpiring career.

8.Trophy and Prize Money :

The ICC World Cup Trophy , Twitter

The trophy of the world cup 2019 will be of 2 feet in height, made from silver and gold and will contain a golden globe which is held up by three silver columns and the total weight of the trophy shall be accounting to 11 kilograms in total. This year the prize amount is really big and more than any other time. The winning team will receive around a whopping USD 4 Million, while the runner up will be able to claim the prize money of USD 2 Million which is also a very good deal even after losing the finals. The prize money is definitely a motivation for putting up more hard work and dedication in the game.

9. Cricketers turned Commentators :

This World Cup will see the last matches of many legendary players but it will also see the return of many other legendary cricket players as commentators. It is surely exciting news for all the cricket fans to see them make a comeback. The great Australian cricketer, Michael Clarke will make his debut in the World Cup as a commentator along with several other ex-players such as Sourav Ganguly, Wasim Akram.

10. 100 days Trophy Tour :

Getty Images for CWC19

The coveted trophy shall travel to the highest number of nations documented till date,it will travel for 100 days in the different countries  from Oman, The USA, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, India, New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, Kenya, Rwanda, Nigeria, France, Belgium, The Netherlands and Germany before it will arrive at its destination which is England & Wales on 19th February 2019.

Australia is a Five-time champion of the tournament and India is the only country to have won 60 over, 50 over and 20 over World Cup. West Indies is a two-time champion and both Pakistan and Sri Lanka have won once till date. Other nations are now healed and ready to give a tough game. By now, you must have already decided your favorite team and must be rooting for it.

So, let us start counting down days and cheer for our favorites with our friends and family.

Rent furniture and appliances from us at best deals and offers to get the best experience of the tournament.

GrabOnRent is a Bangalore-based product rental startup. Visit our website or download the app and browse through our wide selection Visit us now!